1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Antek Toroidal Mains Wiring

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Phrygian77, Apr 14, 2021.

  1. Phrygian77

    Phrygian77 Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,124
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Location:
    Crawfordville, FL
    So this is how I did it.

    PXL_20210414_181906085.NIGHT.jpg
    PXL_20210414_181923480.NIGHT.jpg
    PXL_20210414_181818542.NIGHT.jpg

    Edit: It's hard to see the black hot wires, so just know that the hot goes to fuse first, then the switch.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2021
    Telekarster, gigante, robrob and 2 others like this.
  2. Phrygian77

    Phrygian77 Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,124
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Location:
    Crawfordville, FL
    Caps are Kemet Y2 .022uF 300V neutral-to-ground, and a Kemet X2 .1uF 275 line-to-line.
     
    NSB_Chris and robrob like this.
  3. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    8,346
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    Hard to beat for $28.
    AnTek_AS-05Txxx_Transformer_Wiring.png .
     
  4. gigante

    gigante Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Is there something particular about these toroidals that makes you want to use the caps? I have one for my next build.
     
  5. Phrygian77

    Phrygian77 Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,124
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Location:
    Crawfordville, FL
    To reduce some of the line noise, since the toroid will pass more of it through than a normal laminated core transformer. I basically copied something I saw in a solid state amp with a toroidal transformer that I worked on recently.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2021
    Telekarster and gigante like this.
  6. Phrygian77

    Phrygian77 Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,124
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Location:
    Crawfordville, FL
    @gigante the Y2 cap doesn't need to be 300V, but most of the box type safety caps that Mouser has in stock are short lead types. The 300V was the lowest I could find with long leads.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2021
    robrob and gigante like this.
  7. Phrygian77

    Phrygian77 Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,124
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Location:
    Crawfordville, FL
    Yeah, they're cheap, and seem to be well made. The one I got for this AA764 Champ conversation project is the AS-05T240. I tested it unloaded and it puts out 259VAC with 125VAC input.

    Edit: Also, I think their current capacity specs are underrated.
     
    Paul-T and gigante like this.
  8. gigante

    gigante Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Thanks @Phrygian77. I'm using the same PT for the first time in a project soon. Good info.
     
    Phrygian77 likes this.
  9. Phrygian77

    Phrygian77 Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,124
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Location:
    Crawfordville, FL
    This is a zoomed shot of the SS amp I was talking about. I wish I had taken better pictures of this.

    From the bottom you can see the hot (black) and neutral (white) wires leading to the board and connected to it by Faston connectors. The green ground wire is soldered to the board.

    The disconnected Fastons are the toroid primary, and one of the secondaries.


    PXL_20210105_161002401~2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2021
  10. Phrygian77

    Phrygian77 Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,124
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Location:
    Crawfordville, FL
    That got accidenty posted before I was finished with my post.

    Anyway, if you look closely, you can kind of follow the traces on the board. The hot input connects to a fuse holder on the board (obscured by wires). Then at the top of the board the smaller black wires go to a power switch. From there, the red wires go to a thermal fuse (this is mounted to the transistor heat sink, obviously not needed in a tube amp).

    The blue cap is an X2 .1uF that connects the hot and neutral traces. The yellow cap is a Y2 .022uF that connects the neutral and ground traces.

    Edit: Also, note that they can get away with only switching the hot connection under UL because the mains input is an IEC. If it were a regular power cord entering the chassis, they would need to switch both hot and neutral (like I did) for UL certification.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2021
    robrob likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.