1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Another New 5F1 Build, First Guitar Amp Build(s) Ever

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by pfarrell, Jan 26, 2021.

1. pfarrell

pfarrell TDPRI Member

Apologies for another new post about this fine amp. HUGE thanks to Rob Robinette and his website which is a goldmine—I followed his layout/schematic. A friend over at DIYaudio.com clearly pointed me in the right direction. Anyway—first guitar amp build—can't really call myself a total noob—I've been building all manner of audio system gear to support a vinyl centric playback system based on all the fine stuff over at DIYaudio.com and specifically Pass designs—that also serves up the family movies and hi-res digital audio... So I know my way around this stuff at least a tiny bit.

Everything here in pics is from scratch—except I did purchase a blank Hammond box to use as a chassis, and a premade 5F1 turret board—for the next two builds (AA1164 Princeton Reverb as head amp with 2x10 speaker cabinet and 5E3 combo) I'll be making chassis boxes from sheet materials, and the reverb board is done, made my own turret board for that.

5F1 circuit values were close to stock I believe (except the 10W 470R)—I went with the large OT, and picked up a couple of different 12" speakers to try.