analog non-digital 10 watts combo for bedside jamming

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by albatros, May 13, 2019.

1. albatros

albatros TDPRI Member

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for a small combo for jazz-blues jamming along with backtracks in my bedroom.

I can't stand modelling-amp nor low-wattage tube-amps.

I think I would have fun shaping my tone only with amp controls rather than with a bunch of pedals.

What do you think about VOX Pathfinder 10 & ORANGE Crush 12?

Thanks in advance

Francesco

2. VintageSG

VintageSG Friend of Leo's

Does it have to be a combo?, the Hotone Nano heads sound great, have full EQ, gain, master, an aux in and an FX loop. Couple that with a decent 8" or 10" cab and away you go. Don't bother with the tiny Hotone cab. It's well made, but that's about the end of it.

I've no experience of the little Vox. The Orange is OK. You do know you'll get plenty of other random recommendations too, including the Blackstar Fly 3 stereo and Katana Mini.
    Laney have recently released a range of mini amps that may bear looking in to too.

Have fun with your hunt.

The Angle and bgmacaw like this.
  3. beninma

beninma Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

I owned a Crush 12.. I'd be interested to see what I could do with one today but at the time I thought it was horrific.

Hard to get a clean sound, dirty sounds were not great, tons and tons of hum & noise. It is hard to believe any low wattage tube amp could be worse than the Crush 12.

One of the Vox NuTube amps would be on my radar. Mini Superbeetle, etc..

There was some non-tube, non-modeling SS Vox people rave about here.

4. Guitarteach

Guitarteach Poster Extraordinaire

Marshall DSL20CR has a half power option and all manner of clean, crunchy and dirty tones and reverb as well as a silent recording function.

5. LGOberean

LGOberean Doctor of Teleocity