1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Amplifier circuit boards on ebay - it is good start for build?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by LiteAsh, Jul 12, 2017.

1. LiteAsh

LiteAsh Tele-Meister

2. arielyitus

arielyitus Tele-Meister

I would go for getting a kit or sourcing it all myself. How much could you save on the board, 100 max? I bought a 5E3ish board from ubuy guitars but that is an eyelet board and it is handwired. I built a single ended 5E3 and was very happy with the results, it was like $20 though.

Just saying...

sds1 likes this.
  3. sds1

sds1 Tele-Afflicted

I'm new to building amps but I got my feet slightly wet on these reissue circuit boards, I can tell you that you can maybe learn a lot starting here but I didn't give it much chance, they are a pain in the butt to work on and I found the experience overall frustrating and unrewarding. So instead of continuing to work on the reissue board, I'm building a handwired circuit to take its place. Just like the eBay seller did on this Princeton RI...

Excited to see that you can resell the reissue boards though, if I can get $75 for my TRRI boards I will be stoked!!

Anyhow, I look forward to reading the opinions of more experienced builders here.

4. Mart the Hat

Mart the Hat Tele-Holic

Personally, I wouldn't start with a PCB like that one. All of the expensive parts in those amps are off the PCB, and assembling the circuit board is not the most time-consuming part of an amp build. Building with an eyelet board will be more satisfying, easier to troubleshoot and mod and probably not much more expensive.

sds1 likes this.
  5. sds1

sds1 Tele-Afflicted