1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Amp model build suggestions

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Ash Telecaster, Dec 21, 2015.

1. Ash Telecaster

Ash Telecaster Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

Hello,

I would like suggestions for my next amp build. I have done two so far. Honestly I am no electrical engineer but I managed to assemble a 30 watt 5e3 Proluxe and a JCM 800. They both turned out great! Pretty exciting really!

Now I am thinking of a third build. I had the chance to play around with a 2061x and was really impressed with how that amp sounded. I concluded (I could be wrong or right) that part of the magic was how simple this amp was. That got me thinking...

I would like to build a clean pedal platform. I'm thinking a pair of 6l6's and an extremely simple circuit. Maybe just a volume and a tone and as much clean head room as possible. I've seen some 18 watt amps that follow a similar concept but those are dirt machines. I'm looking for the opposite.

Do you know of any circuit design that would be good to base this build on?

I appreciate any help, thanks!

2. Guitarteach

Guitarteach Doctor of Teleocity

3. telemnemonics

telemnemonics Telefied Ad Free Member

The BF Bassman is a proven great clean 6L6 amp, even though it will also distort at high volume.
    My concern with only having vol and tone controls is the amp needs to have the right amount of bass for every guitar and every room.
    If you're only working with a low price compact 20w amp you might forgive the lack of versatility, but if you want an amp to work in a wide range of situations the lack of a bass control will probably make the amp less versatile, as in it won't always sound as good as it could.