Amp just died. Found a cockroach inside... help?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Jalpow, Mar 31, 2012.

  1. Jalpow

    Jalpow Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne AUS
    Hi all,

    Just created this thread to see if I could get some advice on what to do now.

    I have a Blues jr iii and when turned on all i get is a cracking fire-sort-of sound out of it. This increases as I turn the volume up and engage the fat switch. It had been working perfectly fine just a few hours ago.

    All the tubes are glowing a nice amber/orange colour and I only replaced the power tubes a month and a half ago to JJ's.

    I opened up the back and wiggled the tubes when I saw a small cockroach scuttling around the inside which I then killed.

    Can someone give me advice on how the revive my beloved amp? Is it the pre-amp tubes that need replacing? I haven't replaced them in the year since I've had the amp. Is it possible that the cockroach inside had been feasting on the circuit-board?

    Thanks in advance. Greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Donald77

    Donald77 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    belgium
    euh, that is Poowey! I would check the inside of your amp first and then get rid of those nasty bugs in the room.
     
  3. jmiles

    jmiles Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,632
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Location:
    ohio
    The "roach" is what makes the tremolo work! You killed it!
     
  4. ASC67

    ASC67 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,315
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN.
    Call an exterminator.
     
  5. ASC67

    ASC67 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,315
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN.
    There is usually more than one cockaroach.
     
  6. RubyRae

    RubyRae Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    4,252
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Man, this is really gross, I hate those things. Take it to a tech.
     
  7. BiggerJohn

    BiggerJohn Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    California
    The roach probably ate through a component.

    Get a can of RAID.
     
  8. caferacer

    caferacer Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,120
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    phila pa
    SET IT ON FIRE!!!!!!!!!!


    (I hate bugs)

    sorry about your amp,
     
  9. Warm Gums

    Warm Gums Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    not here
    It's possible that you zapped a companion and shorted across a trace, not likely but possible
    It's more likely that you are storing the amp in the humid/moist environment that theCR enjoys and that may be causing your problems..but you really want to clean that out..
    I just finished cleaning up a used amp that was pretty mucky, when I dropped the chassis a1/2dozen spider egg sacks were attached, wound not have been pretty in the studio.
     
  10. Tele Fan

    Tele Fan Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,246
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky
    If it's a new amp and you don't have a history of roaches in the house, I'd take it back for an exchange. If not I'd take it to a tech.
     
  11. Flipped Mustang

    Flipped Mustang Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    Just blew coffee out my nose :)

    Seriously, you need to take the amp outside and open it up to see if it's infested. My brother purchased a used, very clean looking laptop which he brought into the house. There had to be 100 roaches hiding inside. They love electronics. When he sent it to Dell to fix it, they returned it with a large red "BIOHAZARD" sticker on the box and refused to work on it.
     
  12. Jalpow

    Jalpow Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne AUS
    Its odd. My family is consists of a few clean freaks who are constantly cleaning, you wont even catch dust on the window sill.

    So you guys are sure the circuits messed and not just a pre-amp tube? Just to repeat, when I turn on all i get is a crackling noise although all tubes light up.
     
  13. brookdalebill

    brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    69,493
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Entirely different that the roach I found in that Blackface Super
    I bought in high school.
    Amp sounded great, just smelled funny.
     
  14. DoodlySquat

    DoodlySquat Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    Uranus
    Yes you'll have to buy a replacement roach, I'm sure you can get a good vintage one if you look hard enough on eBay and CL.
     
  15. toadman

    toadman Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    1,904
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    andoverandoverandover,ct
    old ampegs are a bit different from the Blues Junior. i opened up my 65 rocket to look at the trem and this is what i found:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. caferacer

    caferacer Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,120
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    phila pa
    you should see the size of the "POWERAT's in my S.V.T.
     
  17. Dave_O

    Dave_O Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,573
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    offline and IRL
    Don't kill it. It's actually a mojo bug.
     
  18. Jim Dep

    Jim Dep Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,208
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    Stick a Roach Motel inside the cab and seal it back up.....

    Maybe they're having an orgy in you spring reverb?

    Or, if that dont work... try DECON spray....cause "Ah dont want you livin' with no roaches.."



     
  19. Unadan

    Unadan Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon Metro
    That roach, after years of living inside your amp, may have been imbued with great knowledge and wisdom of the inner workings and circuitry of your amp - becoming almost an in-house engineer and technician constantly troubleshooting and fixing internal problems as they arose. He will be missed.
     
  20. Pointmonger

    Pointmonger Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    997
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Call Fender. Maybe it's some sort of contest. If yours is the amp with the roach, you win a Custom Shop Tele. :lol:
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.