Amp for p-90 + HB Tele

Augustin187

TDPRI Member
I saw a guitar I just had to have and I took the plunge. Big spend - but I flipped some gear for it and I know I’d forever be looking for it if I didn’t get it now. So congratulations to me! I got a custom shop tele with p90s and a humbucker at the bridge.

I’m not a super experienced player but I’m an audio engineer and it’s nice to have good flavors around my room. I’m looking for a good / great amp pairing for this guitar. I did some googling and the Fender Tweeds seemed to be popular.

—————-

The amps I have:

Fender '65 Princeton Reverb 1x12" 12-watt​

(It’s the tweed looking one from sweetwater - but am I correct in thinking it’s not really a “tweed” amp)

Orange AD30 with a 4x12 with the stock Vintage 30s

—————

I was thinking about going a couple routes. I’m mostly interested I 1x12s

- get nothing, that would be a wise choice but I’d like my new axe to have a friend if the amps I have are as unsuited as the internet makes them out to be. Maybe I’m covered relatively that would be great news.

- get a true “tweed” 1x12 (something newly available and returnable and demoable

- get an orange 1x12 cab and put an alnico gold or blue in it for the AD30

Thanks for your thoughts wise and experienced sonic lords.

Idk why some of this is bold and some isn’t I tried to fix that but failed

Augustin187

TDPRI Member
I should add the most experience I have with HB and fender amps is a 57 champ reissue and a Les Paul…. To my mind and for that player they didn’t gel - too much pickup for the champ maybe…. So I didn’t include the champ in my choices

Silverface

Doctor of Teleocity
Ad Free Member