Amp Bias Tool Recommendations

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by OldPup, Oct 2, 2019.

1. OldPup

OldPup TDPRI Member

Can anyone make specific model recommendations for the tool(s) necessary to rebias tube amps? I saw my amp tech do it a couple of times on some HRDs and it seems pretty simple. If I can avoid it I don't want to get a tool that will do more than I need it to. I also don't want to get a tool that does half the job. Any help is appreciated!

2. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

I have no experience with such tools since I use a meter, but any unit you buy would best measure not just the current draw but also the plat voltage since both of those numbers are necessary to arrive at the plate dissipation number, which is the final number that informs you as to how the tubes are working in any one certain circuit. The Weber Bias Rite is such a unit. There are units sold on eBay that are very inexpensive that perform both functions, too. Fwiw, one can drill an access hole for the plate voltage measurement using a multimeter. I advised a member here quite a number years ago on how to go about this, and he made the simple mod to his unit to make it a better tool that gave complete info.
    Perhaps this bump will get you some direct user response.

stefanhotrod, dunehunter and OldPup like this.
  3. schmee

schmee Poster Extraordinaire

I use the Weber unit. Most any should work well though, but I would want:
    -measures both tubes/ 2 tubes at least at once. Going back and forth is a pita.
    -has a switch for plate voltage as well as bias milliamps.

Nothing magic about the Weber unit, there are others like that too..

Last edited: Oct 2, 2019
    Wally likes this.
  4. Milspec

Milspec Friend of Leo's

Eurotube Pro One out of the UK.

I just purchased a unit a couple of months ago and it doesn't get any easier than that tool.

h4ck.b0x7 likes this.
  5. LudwigvonBirk

LudwigvonBirk Tele-Holic