1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Always on plug

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Guitdrum, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. Guitdrum

    Guitdrum Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Location:
    Syracuse NY
    Can someone tell me how to make a "always on" plug for my 68 Custom Deluxe Reverb?
    It plugs into the trem/rev 1/4" jack in the back of the amp.
    The effects are always on to be controlled from the front panel and eliminates the footswitch.
    Thanks!
     
  2. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,284
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    Just take a 1/4 in jack and short the tip to sleeve. On the vintage ones it's an RCA jack but the concept is the same.
     
    brookdalebill likes this.
  3. milocj

    milocj Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,755
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    ^^^^^^
    I haven't looked at the schematic, but those switches use a TRS plug for reverb and trem. Would using a regular shorted plug to the sleeve not also shut off the reverb?

    It may be necessary to get a TRS and determine whether the tip or ring is the tremolo and short only one of the terminals.
     
    Wally likes this.
  4. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,284
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    Milocj you're probably right. I was thinking they just changed from the two RCA plugs on the originals to two 1/4 in jacks. But one TRS plug would make more sense. (I only mess with the smelly old stuff)
    In that case you'd just have to figure out which part of the sleeve to short to the tip. The one that doesn't kill the reverb.
     
    Wally likes this.
  5. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    4,536
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
  6. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    8,169
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
  7. TheletterJ

    TheletterJ Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,731
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
  8. codamedia

    codamedia Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,371
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    Just because it hasn't been said yet... you can't use a standard 1/4" jack because the reverb (ring) would short and disengage when you plug it in. The reverb is already "always on" with these amps.

    1: You need a stereo plug
    2: short out the tip and sleeve (one tiny wire)
    3: Plug it in... and both the vib and reverb will be engaged at all times.

    It's the first thing I did when I got my DRRI. I didn't need footswitch control, I just want access to the trem when I want it.
     
  9. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    8,169
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    Post # 6:

     
    ce24 likes this.
  10. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,284
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    Saw them on the Minneapolis CL this weekend. Really ten bucks isn't bad for someone that can't make their own.
     
  11. Robster

    Robster Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,009
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    Just get a right angle plug like those on Craigslist and put a wad of aluminum foil in it you have a shorted jack and your tremelo will work.
    I keep one in my tool box for testing amps missing their footswitch.
     
  12. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    8,169
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    That will kill the reverb in this amp because of the dual use jack.
     
    corliss1 likes this.
  13. Robster

    Robster Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,009
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    Robrob, Yup, your right I missed the amp model he was talking about. It will work on some other Fender amps with seperate jacks
    .
     
  14. codamedia

    codamedia Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,371
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    I think I came across the wrong way Rob.
    Absolutely, as always your explanations are dead on... I was actually referring to a reference earlier about a 1/4" plug... and was trying to stress that it absolutely needed to be a stereo plug.
     
    robrob likes this.
  15. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    8,169
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    No, if anybody came across wrong it was me. I didn't need to make that post. Sorry.
     
  16. bparnell57

    bparnell57 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,998
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
  17. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    8,169
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    That won't work for the OP's dual pedal.
     
  18. bparnell57

    bparnell57 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,998
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Stereo quarter inch male to mono quarter inch female adapter? Otherwise a dummy plug would be fine.
     
  19. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    8,169
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    The ebay item you linked to is a mono plug with a switch installed. The OP's dual footswitch uses a stereo TRRS plug. You have to leave the reverb connection open but short the tremolo to have both effects on.
     
  20. Reverbious

    Reverbious TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Location:
    Northern California
    Unless you already have a soldering station set up and ready to go, have solder and and buy the plugs in bulk quantity and have a use for the remaining ones, it's going to cost you $6-8 for that first plug PLUS the time to set up and tear down from soldering, any materials, plus whatever time, mileage and gas you spent shopping for the plug, plus testing time. Nothing wrong with making your own if you're so inclined but it really doesn't make *economic* sense to make a single plug, unless you value your time well below minimum wage. Not to mention about 50% of novice solderers will end up with a cold solder joint on the ground...due to cheap soldering iron and poor technique.

    Better to buy one for $10 and be done with it...and spend your time on practice and play, in my opinion.
     
    robrob likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.