All Gibson’s and fender’s locked up at guitar center?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fretting out

Doctor of Teleocity
Platinum Supporter
I recently started at a new job site and of course I get instant gas with a big ol guitar center right across the street

I’m not too experienced with guitar center but one thing that struck me was that ALL of the gibsons were locked to the hangers from $1000 to the $8000 custom shops

They had a prs room that even had all the SE’s locked

Kind of gave me a negative vibe

Is this common practice?

I understand putting the expensive custom shop models in cases but it’s kind of a hassle if you want to try out multiple Gibson USA models

KyAnne

Tele-Afflicted
I recently started at a new job site and of course I get instant gas with a big ol guitar center right across the street

I’m not too experienced with guitar center but one thing that struck me was that ALL of the gibsons were locked to the hangers from $1000 to the $8000 custom shops

Is this common practice?

I understand putting the expensive custom shop models in cases but it’s kind of a hassle if you want to try out multiple Gibson USA models
Bad neighborhood aye? I hope those hangars are bolted into the walls !!!

wyclif

Tele-Afflicted

Is this common practice?

Is the Guitar Center you are referring to in the DC region?

Fretting out

Doctor of Teleocity
Platinum Supporter
Is the Guitar Center you are referring to in the DC region?
It’s in Rockville Maryland about 15-20 miles from the D.C. area

Seems like a relatively low crime area so I don’t think theft is the culprit (although I live an hour and a half away so I don’t know the area that well)

I could only guess they don’t want people marking them up

Last edited:

somebodyelseuk

Tele-Holic

Is this common practice?

There are a lot of people in this world with 'sticky fingers'.
Blame them, not the store.