Alder or Ash?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by welder, May 28, 2020.

1. welder

welder TDPRI Member

Hello. New guy here. I've owned Strats and Teles with both alder and ash bodies. Currently, nothing with an ash body. Rosewood, Pau Ferro, and maple necks. I'm no expert, but any differences that I could tell may or may not be because of what the body is made of. Does it really matter? Can you tell the difference? I'm thinking of selling a guitar or two to help fund the purchase of a new American Tele. I want it to be the last one that I ever buy. Will probably have to order online due to Covid-19, so can't play before buying. I'm considering either the American Professional Tele (two single coils, ash) or the American Performer Tele that has the humbucker in the neck position (alder). I'm just thinking out loud. Maybe the body wood is not such a big deal and I should put more thought into pickup configuration, neck profile, fingerboard material? Part of what has me thinking of this is Fender's announcement that ash will be used on a limited basis going forward...not on standard models. Thanks for listening. :)

2. Si G X

Si G X Tele-Afflicted

I prefer alder, but body wood is pretty low on the list when it comes to picking a guitar for me.

I think most of my preferences are actually falsely arrived at, I always thought I liked rosewood fingerboards best, but my last guitar I bought was ebony and the one I'm putting together now is maple and I think they both feel great too. I think it's more about how it feels and sounds as a whole than any specific bit.

modavis99 and welder like this.
  3. 8barlouie

8barlouie Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter