After all these years - string suggestions

ddewerd

Friend of Leo's
Ad Free Member
Heck, I feel like a noob posting this!

I am looking for suggestions on trying out new strings. I have been playing GHS Boomers for probably 20+ years. I use GBM - 11, 15, 18, 26, 36, 50. I play in a trio (classic/southern, country, blues, etc) and I've always liked the fuller sound that the heavier gauge provided with only one guitar in the band. I haven't used any other strings over all these years... (and no, I don't mean I haven't changed my strings for 2 decades!)

As I get older, my hand strength isn't what it used it used to be, so I am looking to try something like a 10 - 46 set. I haven't tried any other brands in forever, so I'm just curious if the collective TDPRI brethren might have some kind of consensus. I see lots of D'addario and Ernie Ball fans, but I know there's lots more.

FWIW, this is for my mostly stock '63 Tele. It's my one and only Tele, so I can't do a fair comparison with my other guitars (LP style, different scale length, different pups, etc.)

I'm just trying to narrow it down a bit without having to buy a bunch.

Thanks for your opinions and advice!

Cheers,
Doug

DavidP

Friend of Leo's
If you're coming down from 11-50s, try a set of D'Addario EXL 110+ (10.5 -48), and see how they work out for you. If still uncomfortable, then move down to 10-46s -- I'm perfectly happy with EXL 110s for that gauge.
Good luck in the search for the perfect string/gauge!

uriah1

Telefied
Gold Supporter
Elxir 9s sound fat for size. Nano not poly. Comfy too. Billy Gibbons uses 7s. Good on old fingers.

Attachments

• AC38FF32-05FE-4A90-A1E1-68A1E9CE3098.jpeg
    AC38FF32-05FE-4A90-A1E1-68A1E9CE3098.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 12
Last edited:

RetiredUnit1

Tele-Holic
These will knock your SOCKS off. The heavy bottom just gives you the thump of a bass guitar, the cobalt lasts a very long time....
1659308719407.png

ChazFromCali

Tele-Meister