After 20 years ...

Discussion in 'Worship Service Players' started by hotraman, Jul 29, 2019.

1. hotraman

hotraman Tele-Holic

I finished being a worship pastor / music director, etc.
    This past Sunday was my last time on staff. It's a great church ( about 350+)
    And I'm not too sad about it. Ok.. maybe just a little.
    I am fortunate to get paid for what I was able to offer.
    I finished a 8 month interim position at my friend's church ( where he is the lead pastor) I was offered / encouraged to apply for the full time position. But I would have had to move / sell my home.
    And my daughter / son in law just moved into our town.

It's a strange feeling, but I'm ready to take a break for a season.
    I've been a vocational worship pastor for 20 years.
    I will still be playing lead guitar at another church where I live.
    I may get an occasional request to sub as the Sunday worship leader / singer.
    But I'm looking forward to taking a "Sabbath" without the pressure of having to schedule the musicians / songs.

Anyone else gone through the same?

TheGoodTexan, mRtINY and CapnCrunch like this.
  2. CapnCrunch

CapnCrunch Friend of Leo's

There are definitely seasons in life. The trick is to recognize when the seasons are a changing and to accept and move into the new one with grace. I have not experienced the specific change of seasons you are in the midst of, but have experienced similar ones. It helps me to meditate on where my identity actually comes from. When you do something for as long as you have, it is actually hard to avoid mixing what you do into who you are. Maybe you don't suffer from this, but in my experience, almost all men do. It sounds like you have things pretty well sorted out in your head. But if you're experiencing "strange feelings" then your emotions may have to play some catch up. That's normal too, at least in my experience.