Affinity Tele - Newbie to modifications/upgrades

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by BackwaterJunction, Sep 28, 2020.

1. BackwaterJunction

BackwaterJunction TDPRI Member

First of all, hello all - I'm new to TDPRI. Been digging around for all sorts of Tele info in the past few days and trawling over old threads and you seem a great bunch, so hi from just outside of London, England!

I've been GASing pretty hard lately and to scratch the itch, I thought I'd try and get myself something a little unusual. The idea in my head is as follows - grab an Affinity Tele, and a Seymour Duncan Little 59 (which from every demo I've seen, I really like the sound of!) and make a sort-of Esquire. In theory, I'd have the switch usable to select between series, parallel and coil split.

Unfortunately, I'm a bit of a rookie when it comes to upgrading. Whilst I have a partscaster Tele, it's not the fruit of my own labour!

I have booked an appointment in my local store to try a few in a couple of weeks (only way to try the guitar atm) so came here for advice. My question is thus - does anyone have any other recommendations for upgrading the affinity beyond the changing of pickup I'm planning?

Electronics wise I'm a bit clueless coming to pots, switch, caps etc. Had been wondering about a bone nut though...

Thanks for the feedback all!

2. el cheapo

el cheapo Tele-Afflicted

Playing a selection of guitars can help you figure out what you like, but if I were you I'd get the partscaster tele you already have set up correctly. Learning how to do setups (pickup adjustment, fret levelling, possibly soldering, etc.) will help tremendously when you want to start modding. While you're doing that keep an eye out for a deal on a used Affinity or Bullet tele. Good luck!

BackwaterJunction likes this.
  3. BackwaterJunction