1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Advice sought. To build or not to build.

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by CapnCrunch, Jan 15, 2021.

1. CapnCrunch

CapnCrunch Friend of Leo's

Hey all you Bass guys. I'm pretty new to this sub forum because I've just recently started learning to play the bass. I've played guitar for about 35 years and piano for longer than that. I'm having a lot fun learning to play bass, I have an import Sterling/Musicman 5 string that I got from a good friend who is a phenomenal fusion bassist. I've now played enough to know that I really want a good 4 string P bass. I want that sound.

I've looked at the better quality P bass offerings from Fender, Lakland, Sadowsky and a few others including imports from Schecter and some others. I really want a high quality great playing 4 string P or P/J bass with top quality pickups and hardware. On the other hand, I don't want to spend $1,200-$1,500+ for a bass as simple as a passive Pbass. Champagne taste with a beer budget.

I've built a few Teles and offset guitars from scratch including necks, so I know I can build the kind of quality I want for around $500-$600 because the wood will cost me nothing. On the other hand when I'm done, the guitar will be worth $300 to $400 for a no name bass. I love building guitars so that has some value to me personally, but I'm slammed with work right now and would be perfectly content buying a good guitar.

What do you all think? Can I get a high quality P bass that won't require PU, tuner, and pot swaps used for $600 ish? Thoughts appreciated!

68Telebass likes this.
  2. Bassman8

Bassman8 Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter