Advice on amp heads

Christopher K

NEW MEMBER!
I am looking the right amp head. I have a flexible budget and really want to make sure that I make the right choice. In regards to the tone I'm looking for, Eddy Shaver is my favorite guitarist. Particularly back in the 70's and mid 80's. His tone on Austin City Limits is beautiful. I would like to achieve something similar. I have read a lot about the the different heads he used over the years. I am moving into a new home with a basement, I can crank it. I am currently playing a single coil stratocaster. Just in the past year and a half I picked up playing guitar again. My technique and general ability has evolved light years, relative to myself of course. It is time to step it up and get the gear that I need. I am just getting into understanding amps. To be honest my head is spinning a bit, there is much information out there. Any help would greatly appreciated.

uriah1

Telefied
Gold Supporter
Welcome . Enjoy

Do your homework. Any particular reason you looking for an amp head instead of combo. What kind of bottom you going
to use.
For Texas grindy thing there are a lot of options based on budget... of course..you could probably get a nice light OD pedal
and Classic30 or Deville or 57type combo and be in that ball park.

Wish you luck.

Telekarster

Poster Extraordinaire
Gold Supporter
First, welcome man! Second, here's an old thread about your fav guitarist and his gear! Just found it while trying to give you some thoughts LOL!!! Maybe this will help instead? This link doesn't work anymore, but maybe within the pages of the thread lay some clues where you can start?

kuch

Tele-Meister