Advice from a "good ear" on figuring out lead runs and chords...

jbmando

Poster Extraordinaire
I have been playing guitar, mostly "by ear," for over 60 years and I have been told many times over the years that I have a good ear. I have almost always been able tell what a chord is and accurately transcribe riffs, licks and lead fills just by listening to them and playing around on the guitar until I have them correctly figured out.

Most recently I have been trying to cop a Robben Ford solo, note for note. The reason I want it note for note, is because his phrasing and note choices are so cool, I just want to see exactly what he does. If I were to ever perform the tune, I would undoubtedly make it my own, and play it like me, but I want to learn some of Robben's technique just to incorporate a little of it into my own playing.

Here is what I recently discovered: with all those years of playing, I have "muscle memory" and lick repetition so ingrained in my playing, that I think I hear a lick the way I would play it, despite my "good ear" and it isn't until I play along a bunch of times that I can hear what I'm doing is not "right" and I have to slow it way down (more on this later) and really listen to finally actually hear what he played. Adding to the confusion is the fact that he doesn't play the same thing every time, so I justify not getting it exact to myself, and call it good.