Advice for nitro color coat orange peel

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by Alaman, Oct 7, 2020.

1. Alaman

Alaman Tele-Meister

I'm looking for some experienced advice on how to proceed with a current project. I have several years of experience with wood dyes, shellac french polish and Tru-oil but this is my first refinish with Nitro. I am using Stew-Macs rattle can nitro. The alder body was previously finished with shellac. I sanded down just to thin coat of shellac as the sealer. I am using solid color (sonic blue) and based on Stew-Mac directions layed down a couple of coats of white vinyl sealer. This went on very well. Weather has been perfect here with warm temps and low humidity. I have laid down about 6 light coats of the solid color nitro and have subtle orange peel on entire body which is most likely from me laying down the coats too light/dry. My test attempts at wet coats on scrap wood resulted in runs and sags so I have have been a bit timid on getting too wet a coat on the body. Everything has worked very well and coverage looks good up to this point. I have taken some 1500 grit on a small section of the back to experiment and the orange peel will buff out but to buff out completely it is obvious I will rub through to show the white undercoat. After that experiment, I resprayed the back so it is consistent color and texture again. The body has set a week and I have my Nitro clear coat coming today. If I proceed with the recommended 8-10 coats of clear and then wet sand/buff (after curing period) with the color layer orange peel show through the clear or will it be negligible when clear coat is applied and buffed to final gloss? Thanks in advance for sharing advice or experience with this.

2. koolaide

koolaide Tele-Afflicted