1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Adding Vox side handles to an AC15C1

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Mike Eskimo, Sep 16, 2018.

  1. Mike Eskimo

    Mike Eskimo Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    22,416
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    Got a mint used one for $350 last month and changed out stock tubes and now I want to make to make it easier/more weight-distributed to lift by adding two top side handles, just like an AC30 has.

    But - I think all the replacement handles are too long (?)

    Does anyone make shorter Vox-type handles ? Logo/no logo - I don't care.
     
  2. deadbeat son

    deadbeat son Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,045
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    Interesting...the AC15C1 is the same depth as the AC30C2. Have you checked to see if North Coast Music has the proper side-top handles in stock?

    I’d be happy to go measure handle length on my AC30 if you like.
     
    Mike Eskimo likes this.
  3. adamkavanagh

    adamkavanagh Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Nepean, Ontario, Canada
    I just bear hug carry mine
     
    Mike Eskimo likes this.
  4. Mike Eskimo

    Mike Eskimo Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    22,416
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    Maybe the fake/cheap ones they sell on Angela’s will fit ? Depth is the same on 15 and 30 but maybe where the piping is is diff (for bracket placement ) or the width of the cab area on either side of the control panel ?

    Hmmm...oh - and are they just screwed in or are there bite-y anchors inside ? There’s gotta be with 48 pounds of MDF tonnage to haul around .

    http://www.angela.com/amphandlereplacementforvoxamplifiersblack.aspx
     
  5. VintageSG

    VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    4,238
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    There are quite a few on Aliexpress. Measure up and order.
    You need the bitey inserts inside, or use a washer and nut.
     
  6. deadbeat son

    deadbeat son Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,045
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    All 3 handles are the same size. The brackets are mounted at 6”, on center. The ends of the handles overlap piping. Yes, you would likely need t-nuts to mount the handles.

    5C85DB8E-A299-4486-B4E3-F99E94D2A296.jpeg
     
    Mike Eskimo likes this.
  7. schmee

    schmee Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,343
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    I had one amp with that style handles and I find them very cumbersome compared with a single center handle. Especially for a small amp like that! I'm 70 YO and I try these things. Just sayin... Think about lifting it. You have to monkey arm it down low, knocking on your legs, unless you want to lift it up like a weight bar elbows extended out . You'd be better off bear hugging it if you must.
     
  8. AAT65

    AAT65 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,884
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Location:
    West Lothian, Scotland
    Not the same as you’re thinking of, but I just bought and fitted a pair of chest (trunk) handles to my AC15C1 — just screwed on to the sides, makes it a breeze to lift myself or carry with a buddy.
    353D558F-A98B-4F24-8717-3DA3B2504257.jpeg
    I’d have fitted them higher if I could but then the screws (which just poke through the MDF cabinet) might have fouled on the transformer and / or chassis - and they are above the centre of gravity so it lifts without tipping.
    I can thoroughly recommend fitting two handles to an AC15C1!
     
    awasson likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.