1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Acoustic Simulator Pedals

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Jammin'John, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    Are there any that sound pretty good ?

    thanks,
    JJ
     
  2. Redvers

    Redvers Tele-Meister

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    Wales
    If you use a PA or full range speaker, maybe. The acoustic models on the boss gp-10 are very good but that requires a divided pickup.
     
  3. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    Thanks. I want a stompbox size one that could take a battery. And yes,you're probably right that to get it to sound good through an electric guitar amp is probably impossible.

    JJ
     
    howardlo likes this.
  4. Bortyeast

    Bortyeast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    773
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Location:
    Televille
    AC-2 or AC-3. Not going to fool anyone, but it does OK live when an 'acoustic' passage is needed.
     
    willyb likes this.
  5. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    Through a guitar amp or a PA ?
    Through both at the same time ?
    Can run with a battery ?

    JJ
     
  6. Guitarteach

    Guitarteach Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,263
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    The boss acoustic AC3 model in my GT100 is 'passable' in a mix. Will do nice strumming sounds and gets the vibe right if you need an acoustic sounding section of a song.

    Not going to fool anyone standalone though.
     
    Agitator likes this.
  7. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    Through your guitar amp or through the PA ?

    JJ
     
  8. littlebadboy

    littlebadboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,695
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    They could get close to it but not as much in recording. In a live situation, it wouldn't sound close to an acoustic especially when they see you playing an electric. They can't tell the difference.

    This is a recording of an amp simulator of the Boss GT-6 at 1:43. The song is not finished, kindly excuse me for it.


    The best acoustic simulators can be had with those Roland Guitar Synthesizer processors like the VG and GR series.

     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2017
  9. fakeocaster

    fakeocaster Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,729
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Enniscorthy, Ireland
    No...unless you like the sound of an ovation with 8s
     
    bigbean and studio1087 like this.
  10. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    Yea,it doesn't seem possible with a simple pedal.
    I don't like playin' acoustic but I want to play my electric at an open mike and do acoustic tunes.
    The reason why is because after I play my stuff I can jam on electric with other players.
    I only play electric when it's a gig.

    JJ
     
  11. ebb soul

    ebb soul Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    7,843
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Location:
    Smyrna georgia
    My tele is equipped with Fishman and that with one of these pedals or simulations isn't bad.
    Strangely better than on an acoustic, hate Piezo acoustically.
    it is actually my default 'jazz' sound.
     
  12. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    I wanted a small pedal I could bring to the jam and run through the PA or the PA and my amp.
    The little micro ones that I wanted to use are too small for a battery.
    I didn't want to have to dedicate one of my guitars to a piezo bridge and preamp setup. That might be the only way to do it.
    I was looking into those Line 6 Variax guitars but I'm turned off by the cheap plastic inputs and the many little wires and connections that can break.
    You can only run acoustic models,no mixing the actual magnetic pickups.
    Godin makes a couple models that let you mix a humbucker with a piezo/preamp but they have acoustic bridges which I don't like.

    JJ
     
  13. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    I hate the piezo sound. It's tolerable with a good preamp.

    JJ
     
  14. ebb soul

    ebb soul Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    7,843
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Location:
    Smyrna georgia
    The old style Fishman bridge for tele is actually better than many stock tele bridges, even if you do not use the piezo.
    I don't use the optional onboard preamp, but that and dual concentric would be reccomended.
    I use the stereo jack and y chord to an acoustic amp.
    Now it nearly replaces a second guitarist.
     
  15. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    Nearly ? He's driving the van.

    JJ
     
  16. callasabra

    callasabra Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,221
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    This topic was discussed on another thread and the consensus I believe was if you play it through a PA instead of a guitar amp they can sound quite nice. I have a BOSS acoustic sim pedal that sounds noticeably better through a PA than through my amps.
     
  17. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    That's encouraging since that's what I'd do.

    JJ
     
  18. PastorJay

    PastorJay Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,806
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Location:
    California
    One of the guitar players at church this morning was playing a 12 string Strat through a Boss AC3 into a Line 6 amp set clean with chorus.

    It sounded pretty whooshy--like an acoustic 12 string.
     
  19. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    My Tweed amps won't gt clean like that but if I went through the PA and my amp it might be pretty fun.
    Only some of the pedals let you do that. Most don't.

    JJ
     
  20. Ringo

    Ringo Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,380
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis TN
    I had one of the first generation Boss AC pedals, if I put a compressor in front of it, ran into the PA and was careful about how I hit the strings on the guitar it would do an ok faux acoustic, but not enough to warrant me keeping it.
    The Roland GR units get a really good sound but then you need a midi pickup.
    Again for the little that I used it not worth the hassle.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.