Acoustic fingerpicking

Discussion in 'Acoustic Heaven' started by Dreadnut, Feb 21, 2020.

1. Dreadnut

Dreadnut Tele-Holic

So how do you do it? I have arrived at bare-finger picking after abandoning finger/thumb picks and fingernails. So now I have callouses on my right fingers as well as my left fingers.

I learned a lot of my fingerpicking technique and patterns from listening to and practicing along with Gordon Lightfoot, Jim Croce, and John Prine to name a few.

I took up fingerpicks when I started playing banjo 40 years ago, then I transferred them to guitar. That worked pretty well, but there are still some limitations, i.e., the fingerpicks can only be used in one direction.

Then I had carpal tunnel surgery on my right hand, one surgery for the thumb and forefinger, and a separate surgery for the middle finger.

After that, my middle finger just couldn't do the finger pick any more; it wouldn't go at the proper speed, so I couldn't do 3-finger picking with that contraption on my finger.

Interestingly, that finger works fine without a finger pick. So I thought "I'll just grow out my own fingernails and use them."

Well, after fiddle-farting around with my fingernails, I finally decided to cut my nails short on my picking fingers and just build up callouses like a bass player.

This is working very well for me, and unlike with fingerpicks, I can pluck the strings in both directions, because I like doing back-handed downstrokes with my fingers/nails.

2. schmee

schmee Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

I'm not a big fingerpicker in the true sense, I wish I was. But I have hybrid picked for decades.
    Lately for a couple years now I have started fingerpicking more with no pick, mostly because I'm playing more acoustic now and because I just do it here in the office learning songs or etc.
    I really do like it. Different tone nuances are definitely available with it, even on electric.