Acceptable Neck Blank Warp

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by flyjumper, Apr 28, 2019.

1. flyjumper

flyjumper TDPRI Member

I have a StewMac curly maple neck blank (30") that I want to use for a guitar I'm building right now... However, I noticed that it has a considerable bow to it. After doing some research, it appears it's not the best idea to try and force the wood into position either by wetting it and pressing or just pressing alone.

I will attach some pictures below to show how much warp I'm talking about. I think I might be able to get by with just using the truss-rod to bend it into position. And position the neck so the strings are pulling against the bow. This is my first time buying curly maple for a neck and I do realize that curly maple isn't very stable and it might move a bit, I just don't know what's acceptable for a neck.

Thanks for the help!

Attached Files:

2. Maricopa

Maricopa Friend of Leo's

I usually won't build from a blank that hasn't been in my cache for less than a year...and most for 2-3. Shipping wood from the East coast to the West coast you're going to get some movement. Give it some time to acclimate before deciding what to do...and don't wet and press it.

3. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Silver Supporter

Hopefully the wood is oversized from your final dimensions. Maple isn't the most stable wood and I hesitate to buy something thicknessed to size already. Curly maple is even more unstable due to the wild grain. I did one time buy a Lowes piece of maple which did warp and came in undersize as a neck. It's fine if you like thin necks, but if you don't then it doesn't work out that well. If you don't have material to joint and plane off to square it up, I'd send it back.

Last edited: Apr 29, 2019
    DrASATele likes this.
  4. philosofriend

philosofriend Tele-Holic