AC30-Enough Headroom?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by NashTel177, May 6, 2013.

  1. Colo Springs E

    Colo Springs E Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    14,969
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Only change I'd make to this statement would be deleting "must be" a replacing with "is too."

    If an AC30 doesn't have enough headroom for you, your band is not loud-- it's obnoxious.
     
  2. Dr. Bill

    Dr. Bill Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,315
    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Upstate, SC
    Goodness yes!
     
  3. LuthRavin

    LuthRavin Tele-Meister Ad Free Member

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    An AC30 is just relentless..time is in the telling ..all good amps stick around..I'm actually thing about an AC15...
     
  4. yahooer21

    yahooer21 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    A month or so I posted about my ac30 not having much clean headroom, so I looked into different preamp tubes. I bought a few, but upon taking my cc2 apart I realized that it was because on of the power tubes was broken, (I guess that's what you get when you buy something used). Either way, I popped a couple of older el84s and now the amp screams. While it may not have wattage of the twin, it has the volume of one.
     
  5. Beachbum

    Beachbum Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,195
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Sand Land
    Just get a Twin and be done with it.
     
  6. SPUDCASTER

    SPUDCASTER Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    7,793
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Grangeville, Idaho
    Sounds like he might need TWO Twins.:eek:;) With JBL's
     
  7. a.miller

    a.miller Tele-Meister

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    We added a piano player once that caused our volume to go up by around 200%. I ran my AC30 almost wide open for a couple hours. I actually thought I had permanently hurt my hearing due to the muffled "loss" I experience for the next two days.

    Needless to say, the piano player didn't last long. Especially after asking to take over lead singing duties from me, in my band, playing my original songs. Bye-bye.

    Needless to say, the AC30 is a great, great gigging amplifier.
     
  8. Beachbum

    Beachbum Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,195
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Sand Land
    Yep. If they're playing that loud I don't know what else to suggest.
     
  9. Cirrus

    Cirrus TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    I'd concur with this.

    It depends. If you want tight and fast bottom end (ignoring the fact that you probably wouldn't pick an AC30 for that) you'll run out of headroom very quickly relative to a typical hard rock drummer. If you don't mind spongy bass, compression, etc, then you could drown out that same drummer.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.