A pedal to switch between amps on the fly--is it called an A/B?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Ira7, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. Ira7

    Ira7 Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    10,122
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Coral Springs, FL
    If I want to work two amps, but switching between them and not working simultaneously, what's that called? I know it's a simple A/B thing, but what's a good model?

    And I assume some models offer A or B...as well as A and B.
     
  2. Tony Done

    Tony Done Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    4,970
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
  3. Ira7

    Ira7 Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    10,122
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Coral Springs, FL
    I appreciate your reply.

    But I would rather die than try to build something for this.

    I want to buy off the shelf.
     
  4. Eddie Bray

    Eddie Bray Tele-Meister

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK.
    I bought a couple of the Behringer AB100s to use to split the signal and then recombine it, they work great. I have one set up as 1 in 2 out and the other as 2 in and 1 out. The LED changes from green to red depending on which side is selected.

    I split my signal (after the pedalboard) to go either straight to input 1 of the second AB100 or to my DAW (Cubase Elements 8.5) which I use with MidiGuitar2 to allow me to change instruments (using Halion in the DAW) but played on guitar and then from the DAW out to the second AB100 input 2, the output of either then goes straight to my amp via the second AB100. So for me both green is guitar straight through and both red is through the DAW.

    Provided you are not too heavy footed, the Behringers work well, they are made of plastic though so if you plan on jumping up and down on them they may not hold up too long.
     
  5. Tony Done

    Tony Done Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    4,970
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
  6. Guitarteach

    Guitarteach Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,684
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    +1 A BOSS line switcher will do this and also other switching paths if you upgrade your rig in the future and want to switch pedal sets, too.

    I believe it has a buffer too to keep signal clean.

    I got a cheap mechanical A/B from DOD years ago and it popped like hell. 'Never buy cheap' I learned then.
     
  7. MatthewDickin

    MatthewDickin Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,410
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    Bishop's Stortford, UK
    sanfi4u likes this.
  8. DaveKS

    DaveKS Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    3,712
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Location:
    KS
    Sorry but a A/B switch and a true bypass looper are two completely different unrelated devices.

    If you want A/B and never A+B (Y) this will work.
    http://saturnworkspedals.com/product/ab-pedal/

    Many companies make passive A/B amp switchers, whirlwind etc. just do a google search.
     
  9. Tony Done

    Tony Done Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    4,970
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Can you explain the difference? We aren't talking about loop recordings.

    Mine does what I explained above, it won't do A+B. Maybe I'm using the wrong terms, but that is what the referenced eBay ad said - header - "True-Bypass Looper Effect Pedal Guitar Effect Pedal Looper Switcher true bypass"

    Guitarteach - mine doesn't pop. The switch must be good, but I can't recall what make it is. I use whatever I can find locally.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2016
  10. bottlenecker

    bottlenecker Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,968
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    A true bypass effects loop pedal uses 4 jacks, but three of those 4 jacks can be used as an A/B pedal and they will do the exact same thing. This is just passive circuitry, and that's all it should be, IMO, if you're just switching between amps.

    The saturnworks is a good choice. I have one, it's well made and inexpensive, but not because of child labor.
     
  11. jddub440

    jddub440 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Location:
    Tacoma
    Yeah I was thinking the same things...I just recently got an expression knob from Saturnworks and it's the happiest I've been with a utility device so far....it's inexpensive and works perfectly as advertised!
    My next purchase will definitely be a Saturnworks purchase and it's a toss up between their deluxe momentary bypass looper (because it can also be used as a A/B pedal) or the dying battery simulator with LED and toggle switch to play around with starving the voltages of some of my analog effects.
    Of course they have many more products I hope to purchase too, they have utilities that I didn't even know I wanted until I seen that they existed :eek: I highly recommend buying Saturnworks equipmemt!
     
  12. jddub440

    jddub440 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Location:
    Tacoma
    ^^I meant the have bottlenecker's quote in my previous post above ^^
     
  13. noname_dragon

    noname_dragon Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Location:
    North east coast
    A used Rapco AB-100 "the Connection" works fine for switching between amps (A-B) Around $40.
    I eventually wanted to play two amps at once (A-B-Y), besides switching one or the other, so I got the Radial Switchbone... an excellent and quite sophisticated piece of gear. It really optimizes the power and tone of both amps, isolated circuits, phase switch, boosts etc. I combine (and/or select) a Princeton Reverb and a Vox AC-15.
     
  14. teletimetx

    teletimetx Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,595
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    If you just want something simple & rugged, check out the Morley A/B/Y box. I've used one for 15 years, no problems. Currently $62 on Sweetwater, for example.
     
  15. telemnemonics

    telemnemonics Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    17,760
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    Maine
  16. TheRumRunner

    TheRumRunner Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    TheGreatWhiteNorth
    While your doing your research, add Radial to your list.

    I use a JX-2 on my big board

    [​IMG]

    And a Big Shot ABY on my small board.

    Great products

    [​IMG]

    DW
     
  17. Tele1966

    Tele1966 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Location:
    US
  18. stephent2

    stephent2 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,352
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia/Minnesota
    I have one of these, very nicely made, bought it used for $60. Generally called a ABY box.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. bottlenecker

    bottlenecker Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,968
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Assuming the circuit is solid, it depends on the graphics.
    Bad graphics makes it worth less than a plain aluminum box. Like every BBE pedal.

     
  20. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    17,187
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    Another HUGE vote for the Radial JX2 "Switchbone". It's very high on my needed gear list.

    I tried one recently. It's he cat's pjs. Absolutely awesome.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.