A fun new band, I have tinnitus, what to do?

Would you play in a new band if you already have tinnitus?

• Yes, this is how I make my living

Votes: 5 8.2%
  • Sure, you only live once

Votes: 50 82.0%
  • Nah, I’d just play at home

Votes: 5 8.2%
  • I’d sell my gear and take up gardening

Votes: 1 1.6%

• Total voters

markal

Tele-Afflicted
Would you join a band if you already had tinnitus? I’ve had mild tinnitus for about a year. I had my ears tested and got a couple of pairs of custom fit earplugs. I keep 15 dB filters in one set and 25 dB filters in the other. But despite the earplugs, my tinnitus is noticeably worse after just a few jams. I guess my ears are just sensitive. We’re not that loud, tough I think we were louder last night.

Mind you, this is a hobby for me. It’s a hobby I am very passionate about, but I don’t make my living this way, so I don’t have to play out at all.

But I really enjoy playing in a group. I write lots of songs and with this new group we started to work on one of my songs and it was super fun. And overall I like the vibe of the group. But I’m pretty certain playing in a band will only make my tinnitus worse and I would HATE to have severe tinnitus.

It’s quite a conundrum and I don’t know what to do.

Boreas

Poster Extraordinaire
I have had it for probably close to 50 years. Gets worse when either my blood pressure or blood glucose goes high. I used to shoot some as a teen without protection (how many teens use protection??;)) and that could have started it. But I believe if you live long enough, it is eventual - like cataracts. But there are wide ranges of severity, and not easily corrected like cataracts.