A Fender 5B6 Tweed Bassman Build

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Dennis Perusse, Nov 11, 2014.

1. Dennis Perusse

Dennis Perusse Tele-Meister

Hello,

As promised I said that I'd do up a build thread on my attempts of doing an early octal tweed Bassman for my friend Gary who wants to learn the bass. He had been saying it for at least a year and on his birthday that he wanted to learn so his family and I got him an Aria Bass guitar and I tasked myself with building him a 30 watt bass amp to practice with at home. His in law was going to be teaching him the instrument so the amp wasn't crucial at the moment but I knew I needed to get the project underway.

Now this is not my first rodeo in the foray of amp building but to be honest I have never built a bass amp before and have also never done a push pull configuration either. But, hey, you have to start and succeed or fail somewhere so this seemed like a perfect time to do so. After asking this list for suggestions since I was going to modify a PA-26 amp as a Bass amp the list said don't do that and use a conventional circuit for the build. I decided then to do the 5B6 circuit as I had many of the parts on hand and wanted to reuse my empty Marshall chassis and Head cabinet which was pristine and untouched. Most of the tubes I had on hand with the exception of the power tubes at the time and most of the other parts that I needed left would be all new.

Now I was going to show all of the mistakes that I have made along the way in terms of wiring and such but it would be much better in my opinion just to give a truncated look at what has gone on so far. As this is now out of the way I present what schematic that I had in front of me as well as layout. I do have some questions for people as this build goes onward but for now let's begin at the beginning. :)

Attached Files:

2. Dennis Perusse