'79 SFDR Tube Bias

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by Neener, Jul 31, 2021.

1. Neener

Neener Tele-Holic

This is my first time attempting to bias my own amp, my knowledge is super limited so bare with me!

Installed a new set of tubes yesterday in a (heavily modified) '79 Deluxe Reverb, and it actually sounds really nice.

I took a plate voltage reading with chassis on stand. I also am using a tube probe
    Tube 1 (V7) - 471v - (13.6-13.8 bias current)

Tube 2 (V8) - 472v - (12.8-13 bias current)

According to other threads this is totally wrong, but it sounds really nice. Are these functional numbers or is something way off? There is a chance the probe may be inaccurate. It's a cheapo from amazon.

I also noticed that V8 (Tube 2) seems to be glowing a tad bit hotter. Is this normal?

1.jpg

Here is where I am taking readings for plate voltage

2.jpg

Last edited: Jul 31, 2021
  2. Neener

Neener Tele-Holic

FYI:

Bias cap is newer 50uf Sprague

Filter caps are newer 20uf 475v

(I have as set of 16uf filter caps as well as 25uf bypass caps on order)

3. Paul G.

Paul G. Friend of Leo's

EDIT: I JUST READ YOUR OTHER POST SAYING YOU'RE A TOTAL NOOB. I'M NOT COMFORTABLE ADVISING YOU TO GO INSIDE YOUR AMP. FOR A MINIMAL BENCH CHARGE, WHY NOT LET A TECH CHECK YOUR BIAS FOR YOU? You've made a big investment in a nice amp, and it should be operating properly. "It sounds good" doesn't mean it sounds its best.

Below is my original post, for information only. I don't recommend a total noob does any of this without doing some reading, research and at least watching some videos for newbies. Thank you.

I've pretty much given up on all those bias probe whatits. Some are ok, some are not, and some can damage your amp.