1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

'78 Princeton(non-reverb) is humming

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by cyborg_stew, Feb 20, 2020.

1. cyborg_stew

cyborg_stew TDPRI Member

My Princeton has recently developed a 60hz hum when powering up. The hum "surges" shortly after the amp is turned on, then it quiets down to being barely audible. It isn't affected by the volume or tone controls; however, the hum is pulsing and can be altered by turning the intensity knob. Knowing the little that I do about the tremolo circuit in these amps, I'm wondering if there is a problem in the bias circuit or possibly a coupling capacitor. The tremolo seems a bit weak as well. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to the tube amp world, and trying to learn as much as I can about them.

Also, I've measured the bias a few times over the last 2 years and noticed a trend. The resistance of the OT has been dropping evenly on both halves, and the plate voltage of the 6v6's is slowly on the rise. Not sure if this has anything to do with the recent hum or not.

2. boredguy6060

boredguy6060 Poster Extraordinaire

Do you have any extra tubes that are known to be good?
    If so try swapping out tubes. That’s the first place I’d start looking.

3. cyborg_stew

cyborg_stew TDPRI Member

I swapped both preamp tubes to no avail, and I only have one 6v6 that is good. I switched out each of the power tubes with it, and it made the hum worse/louder. I expect that's because swapping only one tube, rather than a pair, caused a mismatch.

boredguy6060 likes this.
  4. boredguy6060

boredguy6060 Poster Extraordinaire

I suspect you’re right about the mis-match. It’s hard to track down a hum without having the circuit right in front of you and some chop sticks and a meter.
    Good luck,

5. Jon Snell