1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

'78 Princeton(non-reverb) Humming

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by cyborg_stew, Feb 20, 2020.

1. cyborg_stew

cyborg_stew TDPRI Member

My Princeton has recently developed a 60hz hum when powering up. The hum "surges" shortly after the amp is turned on, then it quiets down to being barely audible. It isn't affected by the volume or tone controls; however, the hum is pulsing and can be altered by turning the intensity knob. Knowing the little that I do about the tremolo circuit in these amps, I'm wondering if there is a problem in the bias circuit or possibly a coupling capacitor. The tremolo seems a bit weak as well. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to the tube amp world, and trying to learn as much as I can about them.

Also, I've measured the bias a few times over the last 2 years and noticed a trend. The resistance of the OT has been dropping evenly on both halves, and the plate voltage of the 6v6's is slowly on the rise. Not sure if this has anything to do with the recent hum or not.

2. schmee

schmee Doctor of Teleocity

My PR hums when warming up. I thought maybe it was the 5V4 rectifier tube. But it quiets down after warm up.
    I have been amazed at how the bias changes over several minutes. My standard for biasing is now ~10 minutes to let things stabilize before final biasing.
    The bias is taken off the trem intensity on those amps, so that may be normal.
    How old is the filter cap can? That could be your issue.

3. cyborg_stew

cyborg_stew TDPRI Member

I was suspecting the 5u4gb in mine as well. Sounds like it is buzzing/rattling.