6g15 build powers up with no reverb

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Dsav54, Apr 8, 2020.

1. Dsav54

Dsav54 TDPRI Member

Hey y'all,

I finished wiring up my 6g15 reverb unit tonight, went through and tested the b+ which was around 336v. I threw my tubes in and to my surprise, It worked! Well... kind of.. it was hum free and my guitar signal came through clear, except for one issue. The reverb didnt work. Not even a sound when hitting the tank.

I swapped the rca cables back and forth, and I took my time perfecting my solder joints. Nothing visibly seems out of whack. Now this is my first build, and though I've done a boatload of research I haven't found much on this particular issue.

Any thoughts?

-Dave

2. D'tar

D'tar Friend of Leo's

How about some pictures and some voltages for each tube every pin. Good you are passing signal!lets get some verb in there!!!

Is your pedal plugged in?

3. Dsav54

Dsav54 TDPRI Member

Here's a shot of the inside. I'll post voltages when I get home tonight. Anyone have any info regarding acceptable ranges on these pins?

Thank you!

Attached Files:

4. sudogeek

sudogeek Tele-Meister

Sounds like only the clean side is working. Try:
    Detach the pedal - may be shorted or not working.
    Check the wiring at the pedal jack.
    Check that the reverb side of V3 (the 12AX7/7025) is wired correctly.
    Check your wiring of the ‘Mix’ and ‘Tone’ pots.
    Switch V3 for a known good one.
    Could be other things like the output transducer in the tank (pretty small fragile wires), bad reverb tank cables, etc. The fact that you get no ‘crash’ when you tap the tank could mean the tank is dead (output transducer broken) or there’s a problem downstream from that point.

Good luck. Sounds fun.

Last edited: Apr 9, 2020
  5. Dsav54

Dsav54 TDPRI Member