1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

68 Custom Deluxe Reverb- speaker change

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by krb813, Oct 18, 2020.

1. krb813

krb813 TDPRI Member

Has anyone put a Cannabis Rex speaker in the 68 CDR? I have a Creamback in there now. I'm not sure I'm a fan of it for this amp.

2. ReverendRevolver

ReverendRevolver Tele-Afflicted

You're going to get plenty of people who love and hate the cannibus rex. It words good with some circuits, not for others. I think the speaker is an enormously important part of the equation, and we would all be a million times happier with 8ish spare 12" speakers (already broke in) just to test in different amps.

If you aren't happy with it as is, try the CRex, if you end up unhappy, keep trying. There are plenty of options from Eminence, Weber, WGS, wherever.
    What specifically are you disliking about the creamback? Bass frequency response? From what I've seen, the Crex isn't lacking in keeping the low end together. Other characteristics are up for debate.

3. Mark the Moose

Mark the Moose Tele-Holic

The custom channel on the 68 series runs darker (more bass and mids) than the 65, might be a little too girthy. If you mostly use the blackface side, it’ll likely sound great.

4. 4pickupguy

4pickupguy Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

If it’s a new speaker it will take some time for it to break in and loosen up. My 68’ CDR came with a Celestion Red back that took forever to break in. Sounds great now...

5. Hpilotman

Hpilotman Tele-Meister

I like the Eminence Red/White/Blues or the Legend 1275 in 1 x12 Fender Tube Amps. Works great in DRRI- Blues JR - HR Deluxe.
    Take note that these speakers are 101 db speakers. If your amp is on the darker side I would try the Legend 1275.

Last edited: Oct 19, 2020