68 Custom deluxe reverb r.i. noise

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Grandfunkfan, Sep 21, 2021.

1. Grandfunkfan

Grandfunkfan TDPRI Member

I played a 68 Custom deluxe reverb r.i. today and loved everything about, including the separate e.q.s for each channel, 22 watts, celestion speaker, etc. They only bad thing was the noise it made. I turned it on and had the volume off and it had a loud hiss. I'm not being a cork sniffer here. I've been playing fender tube amps for 30 years and I'm used to over looking weird noises, but this was way beyond. A lot of the user reviews I've read mentioned what they call floor noise associated with this amp. Anybody else experience this? Is it another luck of the draw thing with fender quality control? I will say once I started playing there wasn't any noise even at clean settings. I'm just worried it'll crap out right after the warranty period expires. The Princeton would be a great alternative but I'm wondering if they have similar issues.

2. Uncle Daddy

Uncle Daddy Tele-Afflicted

The hiss comes from where Fender changed the value of the negative feedback resistor. It's a common issue with the 68 range.

Timbresmith1, corliss1 and EsquireBoy like this.
  3. Grandfunkfan

We'll I'll have to do a side by side with the Princeton. I like the configuration of the deluxe but like most amps I'll probably only use one channel most of the time anyway. The Princeton is great with a tele, as long as it has enough head room.

4. SoK66

SoK66 Tele-Afflicted