60hz Hum w/ Fender Blues Junior

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by judd3121, Jan 23, 2019.

1. judd3121

judd3121 TDPRI Member

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to guitar-playing (bought this amp last night) so go easy on me! I have an American professional tele and now this brand new fender blues junior. I've scoured this site for a precise answer, but thought it might be easiest to just post my exact issue in the hopes the correction will be easier to advise on.

The 60hz hum only comes when I plug in a cable, even before it's attached to my tele. And the sound persists once I plug in the tele with minimal changes between pickups. This is literally out-of-the-box new so it would amaze me if the issue were the tubes or poor soldering. Could it be a power issue with my home?

Hopefully this is an easy fix!

2. beninma

beninma Friend of Leo's

Are you plugging straight into the amp?

To a certain extent this is normal.. some amps are going to let a bit more through depending on their design and how well maintained/old/new they are, some guitars are going to let a bit more through, some buildings have more or less of the 60hz hum.

It IS normal AFAICT for the cable itself to be able to pick this up without the guitar being plugged in.

An American Pro Tele should have shielding in the cavities, maybe the only thing that could be done for it is to change the wire to the jack out with a shielded wire? No idea if that guitar is already supposed to have it shielded. A lot of Teles do not.

Stuff you can try:

- Make sure the outlet is grounded
    - Get a good power strip like a Furman, etc.. that has some filtering
    - Turn the volume down on the guitar, this can help
    - Get a noise gate type pedal or something like the EHX Hum Debugger (I have one of these and love it)
    - Set the amp up clean to mimimize the amplification of the noise
    - Have a long enough cable that you can get away from the amp a bit