5F2A Build 2020

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Expaticus, Jul 18, 2020.

1. Expaticus

Expaticus TDPRI Member

Hey folks, first build, just received a 'kit' for a 5F2A Princeton Tweed, specced in a 5E3 sized cab with a 12" Jenson. Will be 240AC.

I'm a total newby, some basic soldering skills. Reading up on some of the threads, but it is looking far more daunting than I was expecting, so will probably not just be a few evenings.

I guess this is well trodden territory, but its all new for me so any advice welcome. I will try to post updates and pictures as I go.

2. Expaticus

Expaticus TDPRI Member

Ok so it's more a bag a bits than a kit. No idea what I'm doing, but I started by trying to figure out where all the major parts go by looking at some photos. The turret board in the chassis and all the jacks, sockets etc. I think the next step is to bend the tabs on the pots so they can be fitted, and to drill out a hole through the chassis top for the output transformer because it doesn't line up with the stock chassis holes.

Attached Files:

3. Jorgen83

Jorgen83 Tele-Meister

4. Tele Slacker

Tele Slacker Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

The 5f2a and the 5f1 are essentially identical, with the addition of a tone pot. It might be helpful to generally follow the build guidance offered by MojoTone or StewMac in their 5f1 build manuals. Where you see discrepancies between what you have and what those build manuals discuss... ask Qs here.

Those manuals - coupled with frequent questions & great advice found in these pages - & you’ll have a wonderful amp. Don’t rush it though... enjoy every solder joint!

Paul-T likes this.
  5. Paul-T

Paul-T Tele-Meister

IIRC, positionging the output transformer was the only hassle of my build. I used the cardboard template method. It's slightly easier if you position the transformer so its bolts don't lie under the board.

I'm remaking my 5F2a cabinet right now, sized down slightly, can't wait to fire it up.