5F1 Kit Build - no sound

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by brackp, Feb 14, 2019.

Tags:
  1. brackp

brackp TDPRI Member

Hi,

This is my first time build so no surprises somethings's gone wrong :)
    I've got power going to all tubes, I have voltage readings (at home) and I can post them later but I think they're pretty much ok.

I get no sound whatsoever. I've tried a bump test with a wooden stick and nothing coming through the speaker. I've tested the speaker in another amp and it's working fine.

I tried switching the primary wires on the output transformer and one way (Blue to B+) I get a pretty quiet squeak from the amp, nothing through the speaker as far as I can tell. Red to B+ I get nothing at all.

I suspect it's a grounding issue somewhere. I'll post pics of the jacks later on. They should be grounded directly to the chassis automatically right? I've seen schematics where they are explicitly ground to a bus.

Can someone tell me how I can test the output transformer and the in/out jacks for ground?
    Sorry about the lack of pics/details. I'll try get some up later on tonight

2. Tom Kamphuys

Tom Kamphuys Tele-Meister

3. boredguy6060

boredguy6060 Friend of Leo's

What happens when you probe pins 1&2 of the 12AX7, do you hear popping type noise?
    What did pin 3 measure?

4. brackp

brackp TDPRI Member

No popping when I poke anywhere at all. From memory pin 3 on the 12AX7 was 1.6V

5. corliss1

corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

We'll need a voltage chart of all voltages at all tube pins. That should get us started.

Junior Little likes this.
  6. Whatizitman

Whatizitman Friend of Leo's