5F1 Circuit Question - V1 Cathode Resistors

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by brackp, Feb 22, 2019.

1. brackp

brackp TDPRI Member

Having managed to build the 5F1, with a lot of help from people here, I feel like I've got some kind of understanding of what's happening in most of the circuit.

One thing that I've been wondering about is what's going on with the cathode resistors on V1. Can someone explain to me where the 1.5DC is coming from on Pins 3 and 8 of the 12AX7?

My understanding is that the filaments heat up the cathodes which gives them a negative charge? Would I be right in saying that the cathode resistor acts like a valve to dump some of that charge to ground in order to get the right level of negative charge on the cathodes? Or am I way off?

Thanks again!

2. D'tar

D'tar Friend of Leo's

First off.... Im not a theory expert and hope to not add confusion...

The resistor holds the cathode above ground potential and sets the bias for the triode. If it were not there the cathode would be at zero. The grid is at zero therefore negative in respect to the cathode. This alows us to control the flow of electrons. As you apply signal to the grid positive flows more electrons and negative suppresses electron flow. The more positive the grid to cathode runs the tube into saturation. The more negative the grid to cathode runs the tube into cutoff.

These old military videos are some of my favorites. You can imagine the alternator being guitar signal on the control grid.

brackp, King Fan and peteb like this.
  3. DADGAD

DADGAD Friend of Leo's

With one milliamp of current through the tube, there is a voltage drop across the cathode resistor. E=I*R.

So 1 ma. through 1.5K ohms is 1.5 volts.

King Fan and D'tar like this.
  4. Luthier Vandros

Luthier Vandros Tele-Holic

GREAT videos and I enjoy those, as well. Simple enough for my lizard brain.

D'tar likes this.
  5. D'tar

D'tar Friend of Leo's

Oh sure, thats the easy answer:)

6. D'tar