1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

5F1 Champ - Weber Kit Build/Review

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by jvande7, Oct 6, 2020.

1. jvande7

jvande7 TDPRI Member

I've built many pedals, but this is just my 2nd amp build, as I built a Mojotone 5E3 kit last year which turned out great.

I'd like to compare the experience of the Mojotone 5E3 to this Weber 5F1 kit. I think that's where the value of this post lies, as we don't need another general 5F1 build thread.

I've been buying Weber speakers for almost 20 years now, so I decided to try their amp kit instead of Mojotone--mainly because I knew I wanted the 8" Weber Signature Alnico speaker, and if I was going to pay for that shipping...might as well get it all from Weber to save money. Weber also had the best price going, although not by much.

I appreciate and respect Weber speakers, and I will certainly order from them again in the future, but there were several snags with this project. First off, they only give you $15 back for each transformer if you decide to opt out of theirs. This is fine for the $25 OT, but the PT sells for $52.50 retail. Also, one week after I placed my order they had a sale on amp kits for 11% off. Since my order hadn't shipped yet (and wouldn't for several weeks) I emailed them to ask if they would give me the 11% off, but received no response. Most importantly, when my order did arrive it was missing several parts. It was missing a 100K resistor, the 470 ohm resistor I should have been sent was actually 1K, and the power cord cabinet clamp thingy was missing.