5e3 static issue

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Q tip, Nov 17, 2019.

1. Q tip

Q tip TDPRI Member

Hello everyone, old newbie here.
    I have a 2007 model Fender tweed Deluxe RI that sounds real nice but I'm getting some intermittent static. Sometimes it's louder, sometimes subtle and sometimes it's not there. Sometimes the volume drops down too.
    The amp is like new condition, tube sockets and jacks real tight.
    What I have done so far.
    -Guitar plugged in or not and volume level is irrelevant. Pulled PI tube no difference.
    -cleaned tube sockets, pots and jacks and standby switch. Jiggled everything thoroughly.
    -replaced all tubes, (though I can't remember if I tried a different rec tube and I now longer have a spare 5y3)tried different speaker.
    -chop sticked, inspected and used cold spray. No luck

I got the service manual for this amp and checked all the voltage test points there are a few points that are out of the 20% zone specified in the manual. There is also one test point though that says to the AC voltage at pin3 of both output tubes should read 190v AC.
    I keep getting a reading of 785 and 795v AC. I don't know what I'm doing wrong to get such an odd reading.
    A little background info.
    I had the amp in to a tech who surmised it was likely a component or maybe bad connection and said it could cost a ton of money to troubleshoot so I thought I would try.
    I don't know much about electronics but know how to drain filter caps and be very careful inside amps. I have located and fixed filter cap issues in the past and worked on car electronics.
    Sorry for long post.
    Any insight would be appreciated.
    I included the schematic and with test points.

Attached Files:

2. FenderLover

FenderLover Friend of Leo's

This is a good clue that the problem is there or in the output. Did you replace the output tubes? If not, get a new pair. You'll need/want them eventually anyway.