1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

5e3 screen resistor placement

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by mgrossm, Oct 27, 2020.

  1. mgrossm

    mgrossm TDPRI Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    new orleans
    for adding 470ohm screen resistors...add between pins 1 and 4 on ptube sockets?

    Also, while this has probably been rehashed a million times...thoughts on these plans to change first three coupling caps to 0.022, leave PI couplers at 0.1, make 1st filter cap 30uf and second 2 caps 20 uf. And of course want to add screen resistors.
    First 5e3. Have built a 5f8a and 5f6a but somehow this feels more intimidating, probably because its a citcuit and amp im not familiar with.
     
  2. ThermionicScott

    ThermionicScott Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    6,147
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    CID
    I recommend building it bone-stock first, so you can get a feel for how a real one sounds and responds. Then consider mods based on what you want to change.
     
    D'tar and Paul G. like this.
  3. mabinogeon

    mabinogeon Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Location:
    Upper Michigan
    Pin 1 is unused on a glass bottle 6V6, but it is used on the really old metal shell 6V6 to ground the shell. So if you ever want to use a metal shell 6V6, don't use pin 1 for the screen resistors.

    You can use an insulated terminal standoff post like these to attach the other end of the screen resistor if you want (use it on one of the tube sockets mounting screws). Or just use pin 1 and remember not to use metal shell tubes.
     
    ThermionicScott and tubegeek like this.
  4. mgrossm

    mgrossm TDPRI Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    new orleans
    Might beusing old eby sockets with ground terminals coming off the side...can i use one of those instead of pin 1?
     
  5. mgrossm

    mgrossm TDPRI Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    new orleans
    but bone stock might be a good idea
     
  6. tubegeek

    tubegeek Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    3,879
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Do you want to ground your screen resistors? Not likely....
     
    mabinogeon likes this.
  7. ThermionicScott

    ThermionicScott Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    6,147
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    CID
    Gotta wonder how many dweebs are still planning for/around metal tubes these days, anyway... :twisted:

    IMG_4891.JPG
     
  8. Nickfl

    Nickfl Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
    Build it stock and go from there on time mods, but I don't consider small value screen resistors to take be a tone mod, so I'd go ahead and do those. Rectifier backup diodes are a good idea too.
     
  9. mgrossm

    mgrossm TDPRI Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    new orleans
    thank you
     
  10. mgrossm

    mgrossm TDPRI Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    new orleans
    Would placing rectifier backup diodes srill allow me to use a ss rectifier if i wanted to try one?
     
  11. ThermionicScott

    ThermionicScott Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    6,147
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    CID
    I don't know all the options out there, but you could still plug in one of these: https://tedweber.com/ws1/
     
  12. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,258
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    I generally follow the other Fender offerings. Most of them use pin 4 and 6 for the screen resistor. Pins 1 and 5 for a grid stopper. The metal can 6V6 could be an issue if you were to decide to go that *heavy metal* route.
     
    Paul G. likes this.
  13. tele_savales

    tele_savales Tele-Holic Platinum Supporter

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Location:
    Brooklyn, Joey!
    You could do this, as Rob shows on his site. Totally worth doing if you're putting backup diodes in. Dual Rectification Switch Diagram.PNG Dual Rectification Switch.PNG
     
  14. mgrossm

    mgrossm TDPRI Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    new orleans
    if i have the rectifier diodes in place would i have to install a switch to go between ss and tube rectifiers?
     
  15. mgrossm

    mgrossm TDPRI Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    new orleans
    the backup diodes in place i mean
     
  16. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,258
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    For the switched diagram above, the backup diodes are always in service. The switch allows a choice between using the diodes of the tube vs the other two diodes.

    If you just want backup diodes for the tube rectifier only, just use the two diodes that are depicted on the rectifier socket pins 3 to 4, and pins 5 to 6. No switch.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.