5e3 (new build) with low filament voltage and low sound

polloelastico

TDPRI Member
I have a new 5E3 build using a Soursound PT and OT (diagrams attached) and I'm only getting 3v at the pilot light and filaments. I went through the startup procedure on https://robrobinette.com/Tube_Amp_Startup.htm and that was the only thing that never checked out (at the time, I assumed it was because of the light bulb limiter I was using so I didn't think much of it).

However, once I plugged into 120v directly it works, but it's super quiet. I'm pretty new to this and I'm not sure where to start as far as measurements go. Am I wrong to assume that I should be getting 6.3v out of the green PT wires?

Thanks

Attachments

• Scan Nov 21, 2022 at 3.35 PM.pdf
    482.1 KB · Views: 18
  • Scan Nov 21, 2022 at 3.36 PM.pdf
    474.8 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_1429.jpeg
    IMG_1429.jpeg
    121.3 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_1435.jpeg
    IMG_1435.jpeg
    196.7 KB · Views: 32
Last edited:

Ten Over

Tele-Afflicted
I have a new 5E3 build using a Soursound PT and OT (diagrams attached) and I'm only getting 3v at the pilot light and filaments. I went through the startup procedure on https://robrobinette.com/Tube_Amp_Startup.htm and that was the only thing that never checked out (I assumed it was because of the light bulb limiter).

It works, but it's super quiet. I'm pretty new to this and I'm not sure where to start as far as measurements go. Am I wrong to that I should be betting 6.3v outs of the green PT wires?

Thanks
Is that GRN wire to chassis or GRN wire to GRN wire?

polloelastico

TDPRI Member
Hmm, I'm not positive on which green wire you mean, but if you mean the cloth covered one in the cluster of green/yellow, red/yellow and green cloth wires that are grounded the PT bolt -- the green cloth wire runs to the power bus ground on the top left eyelet.