5E3 low volume, low voltage on one pin only.

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Bristlehound, Jan 28, 2018.

1. Bristlehound

Bristlehound Friend of Leo's

Time to turn to my trusted TDPRI troubleshooters.

My DIY 5E3 has gone rather quiet, and after checking voltages it seems to have developed a very low voltage on pin 7 of V2. According to Robrob it should be about 17V, and mine is 3V.

The full V2 pin chart is (Rob's figures in brackets)...

#1 (164) 179V
    #3 (1.2) 1.3V
    #6 (200) 189V
    #7 (17) 3V
    #8 (45) 45V

All other B+ and pin voltages are close to Rob's.

I've checked everything I can think of and tried two different working tubes in there, always with the same result.

Any help greatly appreciated, and I'll buy you a pint of warm beer!

Mr Ridesglide likes this.
  2. theprofessor

theprofessor Friend of Leo's

As you know, Bristlehound, I am no pro. But: pin 7 on a 12A*7 is the grid for triode A, and pin 2 is the grid for triode B. There's a 1 Meg grid resistor at pin 7 of triode A that is connected to the 56k tail load resistor. Are the values of both correct? Is the 56k tail load resistor well-grounded along with the B+3 cap, as it should be?

I look forward to what some more knowledgeable folks than I have to say...

5E3_Layout._Annotated_Signal.gif

Bristlehound likes this.
  3. Bristlehound

Thanks Prof. I've checked all those values and grounds and they're fine. The amp's been working properly for many years and they've never been touched. I rewired the volumes the other day... I wonder if I messed up somewhere there. I'll check all those when I get the chance.

4. theprofessor

theprofessor Friend of Leo's

If you've done some re-wiring recently, that'd be the first place I'd check. See what you find...

Bristlehound likes this.
  5. clintj

clintj Friend of Leo's