5e3 help

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Achysklic, Oct 18, 2020 at 10:03 AM.

  1. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just finish my 5e3 build. After putting all the components on the board I did a continuity test all was good. I finished it up, turned it on with no tubes, light came on all looked good. Put tubes in, test voltage at light 6.8v then tested voltage on 12ay7 socket same 6.8. Problem is it has no sound no noise at all. Tubes light up and get warm except the 5y3s it does get warm and I can’t see it glow. Help thanks
     
  2. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    F85A6F59-F7CA-4011-AB69-679A76E9D744.jpeg D7F12A11-55DF-497D-9CCB-1A97879BE6CE.jpeg 178639AD-B454-49EB-8DF1-640BB289D1D0.jpeg 5D5DEB18-FA80-435D-8E75-C5119BBC987B.jpeg
     
    Phrygian77 likes this.
  3. glenlivet

    glenlivet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    897
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Location:
    Marco.......Polo......
    Getting the correct B+ across the standby switch? and/or Pin 8 of the 5Y3 ?
    What schematic are you building from?
    What OT are you using? Maybe just the photo angle, but I can't see a B+ going to / from the OT ?
     
  4. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    Classic tone transformers. What should the B+ at standby switch be? And pin 8? I’m using Robs schematic
     
  5. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    I’m gettin 2.4 volts across standby switch pin 8 1.7v
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2020 at 11:19 AM
  6. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    3211F619-B1F3-4871-B80D-E531B98EF982.jpeg 5104C498-2B11-4F4B-9FB2-31CB5FE091CB.jpeg
     
  7. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,978
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    If you are using the classictone 40-18016 the B+ should be around 370VDC with tubes installed.

    With the amp running, what are the voltages on the positive sides of the filter caps?
    Please provide the voltages on the 6V6 pins.
     
  8. glenlivet

    glenlivet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    897
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Location:
    Marco.......Polo......
  9. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don’t think I’m getting 350v at pin 8 . Do I measure from pin to a ground?
     
  10. glenlivet

    glenlivet Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    897
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Location:
    Marco.......Polo......
    Yes. chassis ground to pin 8
     
  11. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    Pin 8 I’m getting 1.7v pin 3 and pin 6 I’m getting 380v
     
  12. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    Which pins do I read on the 6v6 tubes I read pin 3 on each tube and it’s 1.5 v
     
  13. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,978
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    Odd reading. Do you have your meter set to DC?

    6V6 example:
    pin3 around 350VDC
    pin4 around 320VDC
    pin8 around 20VDC

    What voltage do you have at the positive side of the filter caps?

    Measure with one probe on the pin and the ground probe on the chassis.
     
  14. David Barnett

    David Barnett Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    13,362
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    The Far-Flung Isles of Langerhans
    Do you get any clicks or pops when you measure the voltage at various points in the circuit?
     
  15. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nothing
     
  16. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    On 6v6 pin 3,4,8 basically nothing on filter caps nothing. Also 2,7 I get 6.7v
    On 5y3s I get 386v on pins 4 and 6
     
  17. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    The 6v6 are glow and a little warm the 5y3s ice cold no glow
     
  18. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,978
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    You have voltage on the 6.3VAC heaters so the tubes will glow.

    The voltage on the rectifier pins 4 & 6 are VAC. Change your meter to VDC and measure pins 2 & 8 of the rectifier.
     
  19. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    This is my meter settings 97ECC690-818F-4BD4-A138-C66CFEDCB646.jpeg
     
  20. Achysklic

    Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    I switched to VDC ON RECIFIERand on pins 2 &8 nothing
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.