1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

5e3, 5c1, 5F1? Newbie question, what do these numbers mean?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by joel_ostrom, Aug 9, 2012.

1. joel_ostrom

joel_ostrom Tele-Afflicted

I'm new to amp building in general, but i've seen a lot of these numbers and codes thrown around on amp building sites but i'm wondering what it is that they refer to? I realize that they're obviously referring to different types of amps with different specs but i just wanted to know if anybody could explain them or give me a link to an info site that categorizes them and explains the differences and meanings of these codes.

Thanks!

2. bsnow17

bsnow17 Tele-Meister

5e3 is a 50s fender deluxe, 5f1 is a 50s champ and a 5c1 is a earlier 50s champ with am octal preamp tube. The 5 means 50s the letter is the version of the model a being the earliest through g ( in the 60s) I believe. The last number is the model so: 1= champ, 2= Princeton, 3= deluxe, etc...

3. motor_city_tele

motor_city_tele Tele-Afflicted

5 = 50's
    e = circuit version (c is older than e)
    3 = model

4. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

This is essentially correct, but here are the finer points of what is essentially a schematic notation that is model specific.
    Yes, 5 = '50's.

YEs 3 denotes the model in order of origination
    1 = Champ, 2 = Princeton, # = Deluxe, 4 = Super, 5 = Pro
    6 = BAssman, 7 = Bandmaster, 8 = Twin, 9 = Tremolux, 10 = Harvard,
    11 = Vibrolux, 12 = Concert, 13 = Vibrasonic, 14 = Showman,
    15 = Reverb unit, and 16 = Vibroverb
    Some of these models were not produced in the tweed format but rather in the Blonde/Brown era....Concert, Showman, REverb; and all of these carry the 'G' designation....odd, but that is the way it is.