4 finger G-Chord

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Milspec, Oct 23, 2019.

1. Milspec

Milspec Friend of Leo's

Sounds like a good band name actually, but what cave have I been living in all these years that I never knew about this alternative G-Chord form?

For the other cavemen out there or who are just starting out, I am referring to playing the simple G-chord with your 3rd finger on the B-string same fret and your 4th finger on the high E same fret instead of just your 3rd finger on the high E.

I am self taught via a textbook mostly and never seen that alternative shape before. The only reason I came across it was after watching a 7 year old kid do it at GC. It blew me away, just such a nice sounding chord when played that way. Brighter, louder, more even...just a wonderful sound.

The problem now is trying to rip out all those years of muscle memory to play it that way. Sure would have been nice to have found out about it when I was starting out.

Which brings up a question. What else am I missing? What other alternative shapes are out there that are a must know item? I do play my A-Chord a little non-traditional, but other than that I am by the book with my playing. Is there a resource out there that covers such a thing?

2. BigDaddyLH

BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

I've seen 320033 called the Clapton version, too.

For strumming, I prefer 3x0003 -- that low B can sound muddy on an acoustic.

3. reckless toboggan

reckless toboggan Tele-Meister

4 finger G is what I learned a G was.

But I rarely play chords how they're supposed to be played (ie. I remove or add fingers and frets just to add interesting variation).

I can play them the regular way if it serves some purpose in the song (like building conformity or tension that will be juxtaposed or broken later in the song), but generally I find it more fun and interesting to play the variations or implied chords.

4. SixStringSlinger

SixStringSlinger Friend of Leo's