3-d printers? any have expiriences with them?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by 24 track, Mar 26, 2020 at 5:52 PM.

1. 24 track

24 track Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

yesterday I started looking at them , for curiousities sake , but the prices are pretty good , could be a good thing to have to make some interesting goodies like cases etc .and the prices are not that bad.
    I was curious if any one has one or is using one at present , and any pro's /cons etc

2. alnicopu

alnicopu Friend of Leo's

Yup. I was a level 2 support engineer for Hp on their 3D printers. The ones you are seeing with “prices not too bad” are most likely fdm printers. Print from “weed wacker” line. Ive seen those as low as 399.00 at Fryes. I printed a tele body has on an Hp production model. It uses 80 micron PA12 nylon powder. The pic in the corner is both pieces. Had to do it in 2 pieces.

getbent, AAT65 and 24 track like this.
  3. 24 track

are any of these worth looking at? I see some of them are down to just 100.00 now but you can bet thay are garbage , yes these do use weed whacker line but a few of them use variable matterial , and at least one of them uses flexible line to create a flexable model
    I am looking at one to create things like cases for my projects i build (at least that is what I am aiming at ) and my Kid is into cosplay and could help with her costumes etc. I appreciate your comments.

4. raito

raito Poster Extraordinaire

I almost got a job writing software for sintering printers nearly 25 years ago.

This is the list you want for the 'glue gun' printers:
    https://makezine.com/comparison/3dprinters/

Couldn't say which one you might like. There's pros and cons to nearly every one. For cases, look at build volume.

Personally, I have other ways of making cases. It's curvy, mathy bits I like.

One of my projects while I'm at home is to maybe put one together. I've done enough motion control to know my way around that.

24 track likes this.