2 part question! Using paint/poly remover on an Ibanez/filling the trem cavity

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by cvdpoel, May 26, 2013.

1. cvdpoel

cvdpoel TDPRI Member

Hey guys! So a long time ago on here I posted about sanding down an Ibanez RG5EX1 I got a long time ago.

[​IMG]

My plan was to sand it down to the original wood and paint a design over top of it, with the wood still showing in some places. Once I got thinking about the basswood and how it may not be just one uniform piece of wood, I've changed my mind.

I just purchased a quart of Formby's Paint & Poly Remover, and plan to use this. I've never used paint and poly remover, so I was wondering if you guys had any advice/tips! I already have a heavy duty pair of gloves haha, I was more interested in the process of putting it on (with a towel, with a brush, etc.)

Also, I plan on filling the trem cavity. I've never done this before and I'm not a handyman (although my roommate is and he is also a guitar player) so we were just wondering if anyone had any tutorials/advice on that!

Thanks in advance, guys!

2. barbrainy

barbrainy RIP

If you're not wanting to go down to bare wood, then why bother removing the poly anyway? I assume you are wanting to refinish in a different colour before doing your artwork?? If so, poly (scuff sanded) can potentially make a decent (already nice and flat) primer for whatever colour is going over the top (be that nitro, poly, acrylic etc etc)

I know you've already bought the stuff, but just a thought to maybe save you some rather unpleasant work....

3. cvdpoel

cvdpoel TDPRI Member

I wanted to go down to the bare wood originally and paint a design over it (but so in some spots the wood still showed through) I also wanted to see just exactly how many separate pieces of wood my body is!

4. barbrainy

barbrainy RIP