1989 Mesa Boogie Studio .22

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by GaryOsborne, Feb 17, 2014.

  1. GaryOsborne

    GaryOsborne RIP

    Posts:
    2,926
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Thanks for the recommendation. I really hope a retube is all it takes to get that nice warm dark and full clean tone back. It sounded great a week ago but I'm 99% sure they're the stock tubes so they're over 20 years old lol.
     
  2. wildschwein

    wildschwein Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    You should notice a big difference. Your amp might also benefit from a cap job in the near future.
     
  3. GaryOsborne

    GaryOsborne RIP

    Posts:
    2,926
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Yeah it's just a unique situation. Obviously an average 25 year old amp would need a cap job but this one is like "closet classic" condition. It just wasn't played very much. I'm def gonna retube it. I'll have the caps checked too. It's just weird that it sounded great like 2 weeks ago but I have been playing it a lot. I've been through a lot of amps recently and I'm pretty set with this one. As long as the tube up goes good I'm gonna keep it for a long time, but I always say that. Lol.
    I've been GASing over this tweed blues jr at guitar center for a while. I A/B'd it with a deluxe reverb and it sounded waaaaaay better to me. I've got a little dough so I won't have to sell tge Mesa if I pull the trigger on the BJ. I want to try one of thePGS humbolts too. But I'm also having Rob put together an MJT tele for me so I should probably slow down lol.
     
  4. Mesatoneman

    Mesatoneman TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Location:
    Pa.
    Studio 22

    Have one of these with the Graphic EQ. Cream tolex. Got it from the original owner locally. Love it. I've had many Mesa's and this amp is one of my favorite Mesa Boogie's. Never had one without the EQ option but I can still get killer tone without EQ engaged. Good Luck.
     
  5. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    17,178
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    I have a '98 DC-2. It's the caliber amp that replaced the Studio 22. It was gigged really hard for most of it's life, until it's owner (a dear friend for many years) died of cancer a couple years ago. The amp sat without being played for two years. Then it came to me. I started giggin it immediately, and it sounded amazing. For about a month. Then it started doing this thing where it would start off really cold, thin sterile, and about 1/3 power, and then gradually warm up through the night and be loud full and awesome at the end.

    I took it in, as it's 16 years old and everything is stock. It had never been opened. A re-tube and a full cap job later (yeah, it really needed caps) and it's a completely different amp. It even sounds better than when I thought it sounded great. It's outrageous. Some new tubes and a cap job really put it in a whole nuther bracket. Best hundred bucks I ever spent.
     
  6. waparker4

    waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    I'd look at the caps first and have power tubes installed and biased for at the same time, and the preamp tubes second. But ymmv.
     
  7. Frodebro

    Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    49
    Posts:
    14,354
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Seattle
    Anything that has been sitting for an extended period without being powered up is going to be more likely in need of a cap job than something that has been used regularly.
     
  8. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    17,178
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    Yes. What he said.
     
  9. GaryOsborne

    GaryOsborne RIP

    Posts:
    2,926
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    There s a certified Mesa guy in m my area. I'll have to see what he'd charge for a cap job. I'm sure I could probably retube myself but I'd rather have I'm do it.
     
  10. GaryOsborne

    GaryOsborne RIP

    Posts:
    2,926
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Did I understand correctly? The power tubes affect/power the clean channel on this amp correct? I ask because I'm gonna retube and since I'm only really relying on the clean channel, could I just get by with replacing the 2 power tubes for now? That would be $30+ dollars versus around $75 for a whole kit.
     
  11. gallred

    gallred TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    California Central Coast
    If its got 4 EL84's (power tubes) you'll need to change all 4. You may or may not need to change out the 12AX7 preamp tubes. For me it would depend on what's in there now. If you have sweet NOS in there with no issues, leave em. On the other hand if it has MB branded imports......I'd swap em out for something better. And save the MB's as spares.

    Great little amp by the way. I bought one direct from the MB plant in the early 90's, kept it a few years and traded up for a Mark IV. I kinda miss that little guy. Was a great little combo.
     
  12. GaryOsborne

    GaryOsborne RIP

    Posts:
    2,926
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    It literally has the stock MB tubes in it from 1989 lol
     
  13. Bugeyed Earl

    Bugeyed Earl Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Location:
    South Florida
    I re-capped mine and it was a bit of a PITA because the entire board needed to come out to get to the caps. Maybe best left to someone else unless you like a project...
     
  14. GaryOsborne

    GaryOsborne RIP

    Posts:
    2,926
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Yeah I talked to dude I bought it from. He said he took it into a certified mesa tech and they said everything was fine. They just had to replace the capacitor that has to do with the foot switch power but everything else looked great. That was like 16 months ago and it's only been played like 10 hours max since then. So I think power tubes it is and go from there.
    Also, is the reverb tube driven? If so I'd like to try a different tube in the reverb driver. It sounds good now, subtle but good. I think It could be better.
     
  15. waparker4

    waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    IMO if caps that are 25 years old "look fine" you should still replace them. IMO
     
  16. jguitarman

    jguitarman Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    1,631
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Location:
    No CA
    I think was mentioned in this thread earlier but Mesa Boogies have weak reverb especially if you are used to Fenders' reverb. I had a Nomad years ago and thought something was wrong with the reverb because it was weak. I spoke with a rep at Mesa and he confirmed that their reverb is just made that way.
     
  17. McGlamRock

    McGlamRock Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,112
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I have a Mesa F-30 and I would heed waparker4's advice. After 8 years the caps slowly went out, one by one. Twice they started failing at a gig, which sucked becasue that was my only amp! The third one went out at a rehearsal, so when I took it to the shop I told the tech to replace all of the remaining original caps. It sounded great after that and has been fine ever since.
     
  18. GaryOsborne

    GaryOsborne RIP

    Posts:
    2,926
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I wouldn't call it weak. It's subtle and I kinda like it. It's not that I like Fender verb more, in just more use to it. I always hated how extreme it would get after like 2 and a half on the knob though. On the Mesa I can crank the verb to 6 or 7 and it's still pretty subtle and very usable. I just wanted to experiment.

    As far as the caps go, like I said, I'm gonna start with the power tubes and go from there. Do caps go bad over a long period of time even if the amp wasn't being played? He said he'd turn it on every few months and play a little just to warm it up and make sure it still worked.
     
  19. waparker4

    waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    especially if the amp wasn't being played
     
  20. Bugeyed Earl

    Bugeyed Earl Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Location:
    South Florida
    V4 drives the reverb. I haven't tried swapping that one in my amp, I wonder if the effects would be noticeable?
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.