1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

1980/81 Pro Reverb Ultralinear

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by scorchy, Oct 17, 2016.

1. scorchy

scorchy TDPRI Member

Sort of a funny story. I found a 1981 Super Reverb on Craigslist for around 350. Ad said that it had a slight hum and would need to be checked out - sold as is. I totally understood what I was getting into. I have some experience with electronics and feel pretty confident with recapping, replacing, and full-on revamping. I played through the amp - all seemed well. I take it home and within a few days, the vibrato channel goes out - super low volume. So, I open up the amp and discover that it's not a Super Reverb at all. It's a Pro Reverb (stamp on the side) Ultralinear.

I'm now researching for a layout that will allow me to find out which caps I'll need, as well as other items that may or may not need to be replaced. If anyone happens to know of where to obtain the layout for this amp, it would be greatly appreciated. I thought it was the AA165 version, although this amp has a mid knob on both channels along with a push/pull master volume.

2. robrob

robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

Take a look at this schematic and try to verify it fits your amp. The little box at bottom center says Pro Reverb and it has an ultralinear output transformer that's been modded to non-ultalinear:

[​IMG]

3. Ringo

Ringo Poster Extraordinaire

So it was a Pro Reverb chassis in a Super Cabinet? I know when Fender went to the UL series of amps they used the same size chassis for everything, Twin, Super, and I guess Pro Reverb too, different trannys and the Super and I guess Pro have a pair of 6L6s, ss rectifier, Twin has a quad w SS rectifier.