1973 Telecaster Deluxe, real?

Discussion in 'Vintage Tele Discussion Forum (pre-1974)' started by EDub, Jun 8, 2021.

1. EDub

EDub TDPRI Member

I have been offered a 1973 Telecaster deluxe that is described as original with virtually no mods. I have a question about the body contour, specifically the relief on the lower bout. I have not seen another with the body contour. I have only seen flat tops. my question is: did Fender manufacture this guitar as-is or was it modified or built? See pictures attached.

Thanks,

EDub '73 Fender Telecaster Deluxe_front.jpg '73 Fender Telecaster Deluxe_lower bout.jpg '73 Fender Telecaster Deluxe_front.jpg '73 Fender Telecaster Deluxe_lower bout.jpg

Telecaster88 and Greggorios like this.
  2. EDub

EDub TDPRI Member

Can anyone supply pictures of their '73 or '74 Tele Deluxe?

3. SbS

SbS Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

I'm no expert, but front contour and white pickguard look odd. Doesn't mean it's a fake Fender, might be modified.

But can you post more detailed / hi-res photos? Also from the back of the guitar, headstock, neck, neck plate. That would help knowledgeable people to spot differencies / similarities.

KATT likes this.
  4. Telenator

Telenator Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

I don't recall there being a body contour on the originals. Is that a contour, or just the light source reflecting?
    really hard to tell if it's legit without seeing more detail.

If this is truly the sound you're after, you would do well to just build your own. &0's Teles are pretty dismal guitars for the most part and they're usually very heavy too.

You could build a brand new one that is a better instrument for less money. The new fender WRHBs have CuNiFe magnets and sound terrific.

Telecaster88 and TeleUpNorth like this.
  5. Danb541

Danb541 Friend of Leo's

I'm not convinced that's a body carve, looks like a reflection.