1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

1969 Fender Bandmaster Reverb Output Transformer Question.

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Timbertea, Sep 16, 2010.

1. Timbertea

Timbertea Tele-Holic

I have a 1969 Fender Bandmaster Reverb that has been converted into a small combo; obviously have no concerns with keeping this vintage. While its a pretty pleasant amp (other than you can hear the optical sensor for the tremolo) in most respects, I want it to break up later, have better tone when it does, and just that little bit more oomph.

I noticed the OT was kind of small for the wattage this is pushing, so I figure that is a good place to start for a mod. I have no idea of the primary impedance, just that the output impedance is 4ohms.

There are tons of OT's out there. I've heard of people putting in an OT from a bassman to get more headroom, and better breakup. I see tons of replacements offered from Mercury Magnets, Heyboer, Mojo (do they build their own?), and others, but I'm wondering which output transformer is going to give me the results I want? Up until I hit the $300 mark the cost isn't an issue, which leaves a lot of room to play.

2. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

Using the BAssman OT has been done for decades to increase the wattage, punch and headroom in these amps. IF that is what you are looking for, go for it. Imo, one would want to have an impedance match with the speaker/speakers..whether 4 or 8 ohms---I don't know what speaker arrangement you are using. IF I were in your position and didn't have a restriction on the budget, I would go with the MM tranny.